Paintings

Use the following menu to skip to the selected gallery.

Pictorial Space

"Painting is just another form of writing." Francine Simonin.

"Pictorial space is a wall but birds can fly freely above, below and through it." Nicolas de Staël.

Pictorial space is another territory for dreams. Here the images from nocturnal or waking dreams take the place of words. But words surface sometimes and carry their residue of meaning in calligraphy.

Artistic Methods

The space that I wished to create with the different media (sanguine, watercolours, oils, acrylics and pulp painting) reflect the direction of my artistic process. This process attempts to express a poetic and dreamlike experience.

The canvas or the pulp is first of all the starting point of a construction. I establish there the main form of the composition. The rest develops from this first vigorous form and the initial colours. This backdrop serves as a foundation for forms that spontaneously associate with it, like echoes, progressively organising the work, giving it a direction and movement.

The concrete fact of fashioning the pulp with the fingers has led me to experiment more spontaneous gestures, liberating the imagination and giving outlet to unconscious associations.

Pulp Painting

Pulp painting with fibres such as cotton, abaca, kozo, is still a little known medium. The medium permits the artist to integrate pigments and diverse materials in the wet pulp of vegetable fibres. These fibres have been prepared either by cooking or by being torn up in a machine called a hollander.

The artist can create hills and valleys in the pulp, layer thicknesses, especially with abaca fibres. Pulp dried in the open air without being put through a press, produces a paper which, depending on the will of the artist, can become a work in relief or even a three dimensional sculpture.


Gallery 1: Fractures

Title1
Click on the photos to view the gallery

The idea for « Fractures » comes from the ice storm which ravaged several regions of Quebec in 1998, leaving the horrifying, but often spectacular, debris of broken and bent trees.

The silhouettes of the trees, altered by the effect of wind and ice, took on anthropomorphic forms. Their twisted shapes transformed the landscape into gestures, evoking dance, celebration or combat. Nature, rather than carrying the stigmata of a natural disaster, seemed full of human forms.

  • image02
  • image03
  • image04
  • image05
  • image06
  • image07



Gallery 2 : Taïga

Titre2
Click on the photos to view the gallery

This series of paintings was based on photos and drawings made during trips to Labrador, Newfoundland and James Bay.

Taïga represents a voyage to the heart of the inhospitable lands of the North, the lands God gave to Cain, as Jacques Cartier described them. This theme is also paralleled in the poetry collection: Calendrier des terres froides.

In this series I try to render the austere beauty of the sparse taiga while exploring the possibilities of the new medium of pulp painting which I had just discovered. Cotton fibres lent themselves naturally to this project. In effect their coarse grain texture, retouched with acrylics, can evoke snow as well as the velvet shag of the magnificently coloured northern lichens, the miniature forest which gradually replaces the boreal pine forest.




Gallery 3 : Topographie secrète

Titre3
Click on the photos to view the gallery

After becoming more experienced with pulp painting, I felt the need to break away from the rectangular mould in which the artist usually pours the pulp. I started to create free form works with cotton fibres and I wanted to combine them with a canvas support. So I then glued these works on a canvas which I painted with acrylics and to which I also added kozo fibres. The painted canvas and the kozo fibres serve to integrate and prolong the movement already present in the free form cotton works.

The paintings thus created, evoke in their rhythm and form the lie of the land that is most familiar to me : the landscapes of Gatineau park.




Gallery 4 : Géographie vagabonde

Titre2
Click on the photos to view the gallery

I eventually exchanged the cotton fibres for abaca. In drying, the abaca pulp rises and produces a fine, but very strong, raised relief surface. Its texture and colour bring to mind the parchment used in old geographical maps. So the theme of geography, the terrestrial space, naturally inscribed itself in these works.

This is a series of “vagabond” geography as one might say “vagabond imagination” for I create humorous and fantastic maps of our planet. The dream-like cartography that I propose aims to describe imaginary places, or places having only a name to connect them with reality. I consign them to an atlas of the imagination like real territories occupying the planet.




Gallery 5 : Peintures hors-série

Acrylic on canvas

Titre5
Click on the photos to view the gallery





Conception: Gorman Productions, 2014
Texts & content: Claire Boulé © All rights reserved.

Back to top

Lieux peints

Naviguez rapidement entre les différentes oeuvres à l'aide du menu ci-dessous.

L'espace pictural

La peinture n'est qu'écriture.
- Francine Simonin

L'espace pictural est un mur mais tous les oiseaux du monde y volent librement, à toutes profondeurs.
- Nicolas de Staël

Démarche artistique

L'espace que j'ai voulu créer à travers les différents médiums explorés (sanguine, aquarelle, huile sur papier, acrylique et peinture sur fibres) reflète l'orientation de ma démarche artistique. Cette démarche se veut l'expression d'une expérience onirique et poétique.

La toile ou la pâte de fibres est d'abord pour moi le lieu d'une construction. J'établis en premier les grandes lignes d'une composition. L'idée se développe à partir d'une couleur de départ associée à la mise en place d'une forme initiale vigoureuse. Cette forme sert de fondement à celles qui surgissent ensuite et s'associent à la première comme des rappels qui organisent progressivement l'oeuvre, inscrivant des directions, un mouvement.

Le travail sur fibres m'a amenée à faire l'expérience du geste spontané qui libère l'imaginaire et donne plus de place à l'inconscient. En combinant acrylique et peinture sur fibres, je me suis orientée tout naturellement vers les techniques mixtes.

La peinture sur pâte de fibres

La peinture sur fibres telles que le coton, l'abaca, le kozo ou tout autre végétal est un médium encore peu connu, permettant d'intégrer des pigments et des matériaux divers dans la pâte mouillée formée par les fibres végétales. Ces fibres ont été préparées par un processus de cuisson ou ont été préalablement déchiquetées dans une machine qu'on appelle hollander en anglais.

On peut creuser des dépressions dans la pâte, y créer des volumes. Superposer les épaisseurs entre les séchages, surtout pour les fibres d'abaca. La pâte de fibres séchant à l'air libre sans être passée sous la presse produit un papier qui, selon le travail de l'artiste, pourra devenir une oeuvre en relief ou même une sculpture en trois dimensions.


Galerie 1 : Fractures

Titre1
Cliquez sur les photos pour visionner la galerie

L'idée de fractures m'est venue lorsque s'est offert à moi le spectacle d'arbres cassés, courbés ou déformés après la tempête de verglas qui a ravagé plusieurs régions du Québec en 1998.

Les silhouettes des arbres, altérées par l'action du vent et de la glace, avaient pris un aspect anthropomorphique. Une gestuelle humaine évoquant la danse, la célébration, le combat, animait leurs formes modifiées et transformait le paysage environnant. Plutôt que de porter les stigmates de la tempête, la nature paraissait peuplée d'êtres vivants.

  • image02
  • image03
  • image04
  • image05
  • image06
  • image07



Galerie 2 : Taïga

Titre2
Cliquez sur les photos pour visionner la galerie

Cette série de tableaux s'est élaborée à partir de photos et de croquis réalisés au cours de voyages au Labrador, à Terre-Neuve et à la Baie James.

Taïga se présente comme un périple au coeur des terres inhospitalières du nord, terres que Dieu a données à Caïn, selon le mot de Jacques Cartier. Par le biais de l'écriture poétique, ce thème est illustré dans le recueil Calendrier des terres froides.

Sur le plan artistique, j'ai tenté de rendre la beauté dépouillée de la taïga, en explorant les possibilités du nouveau médium que je venais de découvrir, la peinture sur fibres. Les fibres de coton se prêtaient naturellement à ce projet. En effet, leur grain très apparent et retouché à l'acrylique évoquait la neige mais aussi la texture à la fois hérissée et veloutée des magnifiques lichens colorés du nord, cette forêt miniature qui remplace graduellement les épinettes noires de la forêt boréale.




Galerie 3 : Topographie secrète

Titre3
Cliquez sur les photos pour visionner la galerie

Après m'être familiarisée avec la peinture sur fibres, j'ai éprouvé le besoin de m'affranchir du moule rectangulaire dans lequel on verse la pâte. À partir de ce moment, j'ai fabriqué des oeuvres aux formes fantaisistes avec des fibres de coton mélangées à des fibres d'abaca que j'ai marouflées sur des toiles recouvertes d'une fine couche d'acrylique. Des fibres de kozo ont été ajoutées par la suite. La toile et les fibres de kozo ont pour fonction d'intégrer et de prolonger le mouvement des formes déjà présentes dans les oeuvres sur pâte de fibres.

Les tableaux ainsi réalisée rappellent de façon elliptique, par leurs reliefs et leur rythmique, la configuration d'une nature qui m'est familière, les paysages du parc de la Gatineau.




Galerie 4 : Géographie vagabonde

Titre2
Cliquez sur les photos pour visionner la galerie

Des fibres de coton, je suis passée aux seules fibres d'abaca. En séchant, la pâte de fibres d'abaca se soulève et offre une surface fine mais très résistante. Sa texture et sa couleur rappellent les parchemins qui servaient de support aux anciennes cartes géographiques. C'est pourquoi le thème de la géographie, de l'espace terrestre, s'est inscrit tout naturellement dans mes oeuvres.

C'est une géographie vagabonde comme on dirait « imagination vagabonde » dans le cadre de laquelle j'établis des cartes fantaisistes et humoristiques de notre planète. La cartographie du rêve que je propose veut décrire soit des lieux inventés, soit des lieux n'ayant de réel que le nom. Je les consigne dans un atlas de l'imaginaire comme de vrais territoires occupant la planète.




Galerie 5 : Peintures hors-série

Acryliques sur toile

Titre6
Cliquez sur les photos pour visionner la galerie


Conception : Gorman Productions, 2014
Textes & contenu : Claire Boulé © Tous droits réservés.

Haut de la page